1. Home
  2. Shop
  3. Art Books
  4. The Art of Castle in the Sky (Hardcover)

The Art of Castle in the Sky (Hardcover)

5 star rating out of 5
1 Review
SKU: 9781421582726

Retail Price: $34.99

Your Price: $27.99

In Stock

About The Art of Castle in the Sky (Hardcover)

The Art of Castle in the Sky (Hardcover) features storytelling by Hayao Miyazaki.

The definitive examination of the art and animation of Studio Ghibli’s masterpiece of fantasy and flight, Castle in the Sky!

The latest in the perennially popular line of Studio Ghibli art books, which includes interviews, concept sketches, and finished animation cels from classics such as Spirited Away and My Neighbor Totoro.

Hayao Miyazaki’s Castle in the Sky was the first feature film produced by the legendary Studio Ghibli. Sheeta, a girl who has the power to defy gravity, is on the run from pirates when she meets the young inventor Pazu. Together they explore the secrets of Laputa, a flying city constructed by a long-lost race of people. All of Miyazaki’s major themes, the power of flight, the bravery of young women, and a world wrecked by change, are captured by beautiful animation and joyous storytelling.

Details

  • Publisher: VIZ BOOKS
  • Media: Art Books
  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Age Rating: ALL
  • Release Date: 10/11/2016
  • Page Count: 194
  • Dimensional Weight: 1

Shipping Info

All Canadian and International orders are held until all items are in stock.

For domestic orders, If an order is placed with in-stock items as well as pre-order or back ordered items, the order will remain unshipped until all products are in-stock with the following exceptions:

If you have another order that is fully in-stock, when we process that order, we will occasionally ship all products that are available on ALL of your orders with this shipment.

Our system will occasionally release domestic orders for partial shipping based on our order volume, usually 50% of your products have to be in-stock, however when this occurs it will pull in-stock products from your other orders if applicable.

Generally, the rules stated above are followed, however we reserve the right to partial ship at any time. Therefore, if you are wanting something shipped immediately it is recommended to place separate orders for your in-stock vs. pre-order products.

Ratings & Reviews

1 review

  • 4 stars
  • 0
  • 3 stars
  • 0
  • 2 stars
  • 0
  • 1 star
  • 0
5 star rating out of 5

A must have for fans of Studio Ghibli and CASTLE IN THE SKY.

by

Any of Miyazaki's movies are works of art, with any frame of his movies worthy of being a picture one can hang on their wall. This book, which covers his third (and IMO, one of his greatest) productions, CASTLE IN THE SKY, is filled to the brim with gorgeous artistry. Aside from captures from the film, there are also richly painted background pans, and gorgeous watercolor sketches of various characters and concepts. Most intriguing are comments from the director himself, as well as a brief prologue scene which never made it into the finished film. As an added bonus, the screenplay from the movie (well, the English translation of it used for the Disney dub) is at the end of the book. It's a fascinating examination, for fans of this type of stuff. I highly recommend this book, especially if you are a fan of Ghibli in general.