After the Quake Novel

1 Review
SKU: 9780375713279

Retail Price: $15.00

Your Price: $11.25

In Stock

About After the Quake Novel

After the Quake was written by Haruki Murakami.

The six stories in Haruki Murakami's collection are set at the time of the catastrophic 1995 Kobe earthquake, when Japan became brutally aware of the fragility of its daily existence. But the upheavals that afflict Murakami's characters are even deeper and more mysterious, emanating from a place where the human meets the inhuman.

An electronics salesman who has been abruptly deserted by his wife agrees to deliver an enigmatic package - and is rewarded with a glimpse of his true nature. A man who has been raised to view himself as the son of God pursues a stranger who may or may not be his human father. A mild-mannered collection agent receives a visit from a giant talking frog who enlists his help in saving Tokyo from destruction.


  • Media: Novels
  • Genre: Drama
  • Themes: Historical
  • Age Rating: 13+
  • Release Date: 5/13/2003
  • Page Count: 160
  • Dimensional Weight: 0.33
  • Written Language: English

Ratings & Reviews

1 review

  • 5 stars
  • 0
  • 3 stars
  • 0
  • 2 stars
  • 0
  • 1 star
  • 0

Fascinating, surreal, and difficult to describe


After the Quake is an anthology of short stories written as a reaction to the 1995 Kobe earthquake. Murakami is quite well known for his unique and often surreal novels, and this collection doesn't depart from that style in the slightest. It conveys a deep sense of unease that really connected with me. One of the short stories, Super Frog Saves Tokyo, is referenced in Penguin Drum and was no doubt an influence on the plot and style of the show.